Public Document Pack



NOTICE OF COUNCIL DECISIONS FROM THE MEETING HELD ON 17TH JANUARY 2023.

CAERPHILLY COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

NOTICE OF THE DECISIONS FROM THE COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON TUESDAY 17th JANUARY 2023 AT 5.00 P.M.

PRESENT:

Councillors: E.M. Aldworth, M. Adams, C. Andrews, A. Angel, C. Bishop, A. Broughton-Pettit, M. Chacon-Dawson, R. Chapman, P. Cook, S. Cook, D. Cushing, C. Cuss, T.D. Davies MBE, N. Dix, C. Elsbury, G. Enright, M. Evans, K. Etheridge, A. Farina-Childs, E. Forehead, C. Forehead, J. E. Fussell, A. Gair, N. George, C. Gordon, D. Harse, T. Heron, A. Hussey, D. Ingram-Jones, M. James, L. Jeremiah, J. Jones, S. Kent, P. Leonard, A. Leonard, C. Mann, A. McConnell, B. Miles, C. Morgan, S. Morgan, T. Parry, L. Phipps, M. Powell, D.W.R. Preece, D. Price, H. Pritchard, J. Pritchard, J. Roberts, R. Saralis, J. Scriven, S. Skivens, E. Stenner, J. Taylor, C. Thomas, A. Whitcombe, L. Whittle, S. Williams, W. Williams, J. Winslade, K. Woodland, C. Wright.

Officers: C. Harrhy (Chief Executive), R. Tranter (Head of Legal Services and Monitoring Officer), M.S. Williams (Corporate Director Economy and Environment), D. Street (Corporate Director Social Services and Housing), R. Edmunds (Corporate Director Education and Corporate Services), L. Lane (Head of Democratic Services and Deputy Monitoring Officer), S. Harris (Head of Financial Services and Section 151 Officer), J. Williams (Deputy Director Social Services, Adult Services), A. Southcombe (Finance Manager), D. Beecham (Electoral Services Manager), N. Roberts (Principal Group Accountant), S. Pugh (Head of Communications), E. Sullivan (Senior Committee Services Officer)

Audit Wales: M. Jones

APOLOGIES:

Councillors G. Ead, B. Owen, J. Rao, J. Reed, J. Sadler, and J. Simmonds

ALSO PRESENT TO RECEIVE PRESENTATIONS OF AWARDS:

R. Brown, J. Poyner, R. Hawker, C. Barnett, J. Hatton, J. Sheldon, J. Rowe, J. Winston, M. Jones, R. Vaughan, A. Davies, K Gurmin, P. O'Neill, J. Nicolson, B. Horrell, N. Taylor, L. Kabza, M. Harris,

The decisions and declarations of interest are set out below. For further details please refer to the relevant report.

The full individual voting result on all items can be found with the Council Agenda on the Caerphilly County Borough <u>Website</u>:

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
2.	Mayor's Announcements	Noted.	No vote required
3.	To receive petitions under Rule of Procedure 28(3)	No petitions were received.	No vote required
4.	Presentation of Awards	Awards were presented	No vote required
5.	Declarations of Interest	There were no declarations of interest received.	No vote required

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
6.	Council held on 24 th November 2022	It was RESOLVED that the minutes of the meeting held on 24 th November 2022 be approved as a correct record.	53 For 0 Against 2 Abstain
7.	To receive and to answer questions received under Rule of Procedure 10(2).	Questions received and answers noted.	No vote required
8.	To received and to answer questions received under Rule of Procedure 10(4)	Questions received and answers noted.	No vote required
9.	Financial Statements for 2021/22	It was moved and seconded that the recommendations contained in the Officer's report be approved and by way of Microsoft Forms and verbal confirmation this was agreed by the majority present. RESOLVED that: - 1. The Audit Wales 'Audit of Accounts Report' be received and commented on. 2. The 2021/22 Audited Financial Accounts be approved. 3. An 'Audit of Accounts Addendum Report' will be presented to the Governance and Audit Committee at its meeting on 18 April 2023, setting out details of Audit Wales' recommendations arising from the audit of the Council's 2021/22 Financial Accounts and the associated management represented to the Sovernance and Audit Committee at the audit of the Council's 2021/22 Financial Accounts and the associated management represented to the Sovernance and Audit Committee Accounts Accoun	54 For 3 Against 3 Abstain
10.	Council Tax Reduction Scheme	responses be noted. It was moved and seconded that the recommendations contained in the Officer's report be approved and by way of Microsoft Forms this was agreed by the majority present. RESOLVED that the current Council Tax Reduction Scheme should continue for the 2023/24 financial year along with the previously agreed local discretions.	60 For 0 Against 1 Abstain
11.	Annual Report of the Director of Social Services	It was moved and seconded that the recommendations contained in the Officer's covering report be approved any by way of Microsoft Forms and verbal confirmation this was agreed by the majority present. RESOLVED that the report be endogged and adopted and submitted	59 For 00 Against 1 Abstain

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
		to Welsh Government, Care Inspectorate Wales and published to the Authority's website.	
12.	Review of Communities and Electoral Arrangements	It was moved and seconded that the recommendations contained in the Officers report be approved and by way of Microsoft Forms and verbal confirmation this was agreed by the majority present.	59 For 1 Against 0 Abstain
		RESOLVED that:-	
		 The Section 25 review of community boundaries commences in February 2023. 	
		2. A working group comprising of the following members be established:	
		 Leader of the Council Leader of the Plaid Cymru Group Leader of the Independent Group 2 additional members from the Labour group 1 additional member from the Plaid Cymru Group 	
		 That the Council Size Policy outlined in the body of the report be adopted for this and future reviews. 	
13.	Standards Committee Appointment of Two Independent Lay Members and Community Councillor Member	It was moved and seconded that the recommendations contained in the Officers report be approved and by way of Microsoft Forms and verbal confirmation this was agreed by the majority present.	55 For 1 Against 4 Abstain
		RESOLVED that: -	
		 Community Councillor Anne Gray be appointed as the Community Council representative on the Standards Committee, until the next Community/Town Council election in May 2027; 	
		 Lisa Jay and Vik Yadh be appointed for a period of six years from 17th January 2023 as Independent Lay Members of the Standards Committee; 	
		3. The establishing a reserve list of Pagendent Lay Members and	

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
		that Maeve Williams, Robert Butcher and David Williams be invited to remain on that list for a period of twelve months from the 17th January 2023 be agreed.	

Circulation:

Published Electronically by 5.00pm on Wednesday 25th January 2023.